It’s pretty fascinating. The house was remodeled from all reclaimed materials. It was first built in the early 1940s as a part of Vanport Village; a quickly erected development built to house shipyard workers. When Vanport Village flooded in 1948, this particular little house was floated down the river to Sauvie Island, where it became the goose-check station. Years later, it was remodeled to become a rental house. As part of the remodel, the worn out roof was replaced with a green roof, planted with moss and ferns gathered along the Columbia River Gorge.